Answered question

Does rollover data stay in your account if you eventually change your plan to not include any data?

My mom has a fizz plan with 1GB of emergency data just in case. Let’s say she barely uses it and eventually accumulates like 5GB. If she changed her plan to have no data, would the rollover of 5GB stay in her account? Or would it disappear once the plan is changed to a no data plan?

Natasha
Natasha

Natasha

User level
Level
0
2 / 100
points

Natasha'
You keep your data, if you change your plan without data.
This rollover will be available for 60 days after your next date of your cycling plan.

Did you find this useful ?

No (0)

Yes (0)

0% of users found this answer useful

Other answers

Yes you can remove the data and still use the rollover

 

https://fizz.ca/en/faq/what-is-rollover-and-how-does-it-work

 

Does my rolled over data instantly expire when I change my plan?

Of course not. You keep your rolled over data for two (2) complete payment cycles even if you change your plan during that time, and even if that new plan has no data.

Samtou
Samtou

Samtou

User level
Level
1
121 / 750
points

Just to confirm what Mike is saying: Yes you can still use the rollover!

Yes, you keep the data for the amount of time left on it.
ie. if its month 1 and you change the plan to no data before the month ends, you will still have it for month 2 and 3 provided you don't use it all up.
Don't forget to change the plan again before month 3 ends if you want data again the next month.

Nini
Nini

Nini

User level
Level
4
5000 / 5000
points

She will keep the rollover data.Be careful,if she got her plan before the 17 of October,she has a preferential price for her plan and will loose that price if she changes plan.

Be aware that your remaining data will stil be available until you use everything or the expiration BUT you need data to receive sms with picture (mms).
Better to know before than after :)

How about the opposite scenario? If I have no data in my plan, can I switch to a plan with data, and then gift some of my data and then switch back to my original plan?
Would I have to pay the bill of the new plan even if I cancel it almost immediately after I choose it?

Samtou
Samtou

Samtou

User level
Level
1
121 / 750
points

@Abdul

Your plan doesn't update immediately when you change it, you have to wait for the next payment cycle. Therefore, you get access to your new plan only once you have paid it and it and it stays 30 days long. What you could do is change your plan for one month, get more data, give it and then return to the previous plan.

As others have mentioned, your plan data will rollover for up to 2 months. After 2 months, if it is still unused, it goes away.

 

If you change to a plan without data, keep in mind you will no longer be able to participate in data gifting (unless it's a gifted perk). Every time you make a plan change, your renewal will be charged at current prices.

@Fizzy: Sorry to correct you, at the moment the upgrades are still applied, I know that the Fizz's guide said that they do not. But you will find a lot of users with data, without a data plan.

Yes it will work, as I already used that technique.
Your mom buy 1 Gb. And then don't need to buy data for the next two months. Plus if she participate and win some bonus, she might never need to buy data for way longer than the next two months as those bonus last for 24 months.

Nini
Nini

Nini

User level
Level
4
5000 / 5000
points

Please choose a best answer to close the discussion. Merci!